
So…what is the Monday Poll?
Excellent question! It isn’t, contrary to its name, an actual poll, like with little clicky buttons. It’s just a list of more or less random questions I’ve been posting on this blog every Monday morning for the past quadrillion years (since 2007).
1. Have you been watching the Olympics?
Yes! I’ve especially enjoyed watching gymnastics because the skill level they possess is insane! I’m especially in awe of all the things the ladies achieve on the beam. I mean, seriously, I could barely even climb onto that thing, LOL!
2. Peanut butter: creamy or crunchy?
These days both! Creamy for smoothies and crunchy for toast or as an accoutrement with apples. Yum!
3. What beauty items do you happily buy extra large bottles of?
Aveeno body lotion and body wash, for sure. We go through a lot of it. Oh, and sunscreen.
4. A pet peeve that you have with roommates or co-workers?
When people wash their dishes and leave niblets of food in the sink!
5. Expensive shampoo or expensive perfume?
Um, both? But if I had to pick just one, then expensive perfume it is, ooh la la.
Your friendly neighborhood beauty addict,
Karen
P.S. Here are the questions to copy/paste with your answers in a comment. Talk to ya soon.
1. Have you been watching the Olympics?
2. Peanut butter: creamy or crunchy?
3. What beauty items do you happily buy extra large bottles of?
4. A pet peeve that you have with roommates or co-workers?
5. Expensive shampoo or expensive perfume?

1. Have you been watching the Olympics?
No, I don’t watch much TV. I’m more of a podcast/audiobook person.
2. Peanut butter: creamy or crunchy?
Both, although crunchy is my favorite.
3. What beauty items do you happily buy extra large bottles of?
Neutrogena Hydroboost body lotion.
4. A pet peeve that you have with roommates or co-workers?
Not putting things back in the right place in the refrigerator.
5. Expensive shampoo or expensive perfume?
Expensive perfume. I’d love to have a bespoke perfume that no one else can have.
Ooh agreed, that’s a great lotion!
1. Have you been watching the Olympics?
I did get a peacock subscription to watch it, but unfortunately have not got around watching it
2. Peanut butter: creamy or crunchy? Not a fan of peanut butter but will go with creamy
3. What beauty items do you happily buy extra large bottles of?
Body wash, usually I have commitment issues with beauty items
4. A pet peeve that you have with roommates or co-workers?
Leaving the dishes in the sink, leaving food crumbs on the table
5. Expensive shampoo or expensive perfume?
Expensive perfume, my hair always has a mind of its own so can never trust it.
Oh girl, watch some Primetime in Paris! It’s so good.
1. Have you been watching the Olympics? no just highlights
2. Peanut butter: creamy or crunchy? crunchy
3. What beauty items do you happily buy extra large bottles of? body wash, toner, essence , lotion, body serums.
4. A pet peeve that you have with roommates or co-workers? just having a roomate
5. Expensive shampoo or expensive perfume? expensive perfume
Hope you’ve been having a great week, Ericca! I can’t believe tomorrow is Thursday already.
karen. I cant wait for the weekend!
1. Have you been watching the Olympics?
Yes, to an extent. I love women’s (and to a lesser extent men’s) gymnastics, freestyle dressage and show jumping.
2. Peanut butter: creamy or crunchy?
Creamy almond butter, please. Oh, if you surround it with dark chocolate, even better.
3. What beauty items do you happily buy extra large bottles of?
Hempz scented body lotions.
4. A pet peeve that you have with roommates or co-workers?
Talking in the first two hours of the day. I’m just not ready to process anything until several hours after breakfast!
5. Expensive shampoo or expensive perfume?
Expensive perfume (but by “expensive” I mean not the cheapies — though I like them too).
Oh, please tell me you know about the pommel horse guy on the men’s team!
1. Have you been watching the Olympics? No, I’ve watched just the recaps of the women’s gymnastics which I just love to watch but that’s been it.
2. Peanut butter: creamy or crunchy? Creamy. I ate so many little bags of peanuts when I was an airline pilot I can’t stand peanuts in their natural state, including pieces in my PB.
3. What beauty items do you happily buy extra large bottles of? My Alpenglow fragrance-free skin cream (great for face, body, and seriously helps with my eczema. I get the big two cup container. I also buy their shampoo in bulk as it’s the only one literally everyone from grandkids to my husband, likes.
4. A pet peeve that you have with roommates or co-workers? Using the last piece of paper in the copy machine, then walking off and leaving it when the refills sit right next to it.
5. Expensive shampoo or expensive perfume? Expensive perfume.
I’ve enjoyed women’s gymnastics so very much! This team was so epic.
1. Have you been watching the Olympics? Not really. Except for the swimming.
2. Peanut butter: creamy or crunchy? Both
3. What beauty items do you happily buy extra large bottles of? La Roche Posay Toleriane Hydrating Gentle Cleanser.
4. A pet peeve that you have with roommates or co-workers? Well Dear Husband is my only roommate right now besides Dear Daughter’s cat, so I’m not gonna complain about either one of them. Although I do wish the cat knew how to either scoop her litter box or use the toilet. Lol.
5. Expensive shampoo or expensive perfume? Expensive perfume.
It’s possible to train a cat to use a toilet. There’s a book on it. I gave a copy of it to a coworker who had 3 cats. Though I don’t think she had the discipline to actually do it. I wish I’d kept the book because I might get a cat in the next year.
The cat will be 18 this November. I don’t think I’m up for trying to teach her new skills.
Oh well. I’m sure it is easier to train a young cat.
If I ever told Rosie to scoop her litter box, my eyes would get clawed out, LOL!
🤣 I’m sure when Nibbler was younger she’d have done the same. At 17 yrs. old she just doesn’t complain about things as much as she once did.
1. Have you been watching the Olympics? Yes, mostly the Equestrian Eventing (cross country, dressage, and show jumping), but here and there I have watched gymnastics, swimming, table tennis, badminton, running, and bicycling. I have YouTube TV, which covers all the channels needed and also allows you to record with no limit. But you can’t keep the recordings more than 9 months, which is a bummer with regard to sporting events. They also raised their price $15.00 a month to subsidize their deal with NFL football, which I don’t even really care to watch (maybe watch 3 games a year, not in their entirety).
2. Peanut butter: creamy or crunchy? Creamy.
3. What beauty items do you happily buy extra large bottles of? Nothing, really. I don’t use humongous amounts of shampoo or body lotion/wash. Most people use far more shampoo than they need to when they wash their hair.
4. A pet peeve that you have with roommates or co-workers? People who speak too loudly when there’s only a thin fabric wall dividing the cubicles. Also, people who bother you when you’re wearing headphones.
5. Expensive shampoo or expensive perfume? Perfume. Expensive shampoo is mostly a racket. I don’t think any shampoo is worth even $10.00 for 12 oz.
So the trend now is to *not* have cubicle walls and to have shared office space. 🙁 I’m not a fan of it!
Ugh! Open office plans are the worst. Most of the design offices I worked at in NYC 35 years ago had open office plans. We were told that was how it was in Europe at the time.
That’s a throw-back to the 1950s and 1960s. See the office set-up for the low-level workers in the old movie, “The Apartment.” That would just be awful to have to put up with, especially since you’d have to put up with the sound of typewriters and adding machines. I sure don’t want them to remove our dividers, because there would go any sense of privacy in the office.
Honestly, I could never. I need some feeling of a little bit of privacy. What if I need to take off my shoe because there’s a rock in it, or what if my sock is itchy? I don’t need Martha in marketing to see me dealing with my socks. LOL! I’m so grateful to have a door in my office. I have to share it with someone, but she’s never on campus, so it’s all good.
An office with a door is still the holy grail of office life. In my building, only managers get that, and they don’t have to share (yet). Fairly open cubicles, a least for clerical workers, are the rule. Mine has a counter that someone likened to a fast-food order counter. Mostly I work at home now, though. There are pluses and minuses to that, but it looks like the work world I knew is gone. When I go in, not many are there, and they are people I don’t know (some hired in the last 4 years) for the most part. They are often too loud – apparently they haven’t learned office etiquette.
1. Have you been watching the Olympics? Nope. But I do read about the highlights.
2. Peanut butter: creamy or crunchy? Crunchy. Santa Cruz is the best!
3. What beauty items do you happily buy extra large bottles of? Body wash.
4. A pet peeve that you have with roommates or co-workers? Asking me questions before doing the research yourself.
5. Expensive shampoo or expensive perfume? Perfume.
I’ve never tried Santa Cruz peanut butter! Putting it on my list. 🙂
1. Have you been watching the Olympics? Yes mostly golf, skateboarding, and some basketball
2. Peanut butter: creamy or crunchy? Creamy
3. What beauty items do you happily buy extra large bottles of? Vanicream in those tubs
4. A pet peeve that you have with roommates or co-workers? My 10 yo roommate leaves his Legos EVERYWHERE
5. Expensive shampoo or expensive perfume? I have a perfume collection that I’m happy with so I’ll pick expensive shampoo that moisturizes and keeps my thick hair manageable
LOL re your roommate’s Legos! I feel you!